Little Rock Family is proud to present the fifth annual class of Amazing Educators, sponsored by Delta Dental. With help from our sponsor, we gave awards to four impressive teachers in central Arkansas who work hard every day to inspire their students to learn, reach goals and dream. They spark imaginations, see students’ potential, give hope and tirelessly encourage.

That’s why these educators were nominated by peers, parents of students and community members to be considered for the program. An independent panel of local education experts reviewed more than 150 nominations and chose a winner in each category: Elementary School, Middle School, High School and Special Needs. While our judges must remain anonymous, we can’t thank them enough for their involvement and expertise in choosing this year’s honorees.

Winners were recognized in the fall of 2017 through surprises at assemblies, during chapel and even in the classroom — all of these were set up by proud principals and caring co-workers. During the ceremonies, each educator received a $1,000 check. Plus, Delta Dental donated enough toothbrushes for every student at each of the schools!

Congratulations to our fifth class of Amazing Educators and thank you to Delta Dental for investing in education! We appreciate each reader who nominated a teacher. Look for a form to nominate a teacher for next year’s Amazing Educators awards at

Erick Saoud
Episcopal Collegiate School


Terisa Liberty
Joe T. Robinson High School


Malcolm Sharpley
J.A. Fair Systems Magnet High School


Amanda Ware
Indian Hills Elementary